Episodic Thoughts: DanMachi – Episode 13

My thoughts on the thirteenth episode of Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka.

While I would have appreciated some nod of the head to Freya beyond a still-shot in the ED this was a pretty enjoyable finale. By way of Hermes I think the ultimate conflict with Goliath was due to Hestia activating her divine powers rather than any intervention from elsewhere – saying that the dungeon has some animosity towards them which I suppose hints at why the goddesses aren’t supposed to enter the dungeon.

There were a couple of interesting reveals this episode such as the identity of Bell’s grandfather being Zeus and why Hermes was familiar with his grandfather’s quotes in the previous episodes. Looking at his character in retrospect I actually enjoy the way he was characterized as I think it captures a fun side of Zeus and makes sense given context. The only negative aspect of this new inclusion I feel is that it gives Bell’s character some excuse as to why he is so ridiculously powerful for his level.

I suppose it’s good that we have a reason for his abilities however at the same time knowing that Bell is of divine lineage somewhat cheapens his feats in my mind – I would respect Perseus a good deal more if I didn’t know that he was the son of Zeus and instead valued him solely based on his heroic actions for instance. But then again being the grandchild of a god is cool in and of itself and at least the show didn’t go overboard and have Bell using lightning bolts this whole time in place of his signature magic attack.

Finally, several episodes after her inclusion in the search party, we get to appreciate Ryu for the badass that she is in full. She had far more action scenes than I thought she would and was incredibly integral to the battle and I couldn’t be happier about it although I will admit that she had one of the most awkward animations I have seen in the entire show early on in the episode but they made up for it quickly and with great excess. The whole battle was quite fun to watch and I was glad to see so many different characters spotlighted upon because I think the cast of the show is where its strengths lie and so giving them the attention this episode really made it feel like a finale.

Leave a Reply

